On the Disputed Existence of a Deity

“Thelodius, is God real?”

“What my child, real?”

“Yes, real. Is there an entity out there beyond our perception who dictates the principles of the universe, who, who governs the course of human events?”

“Oh.”

“Is my question clear, Thelodius?”

“Yes, my child. Quite clear.”

“Then what is you answer?”

“I do not know how to answer your question, my sweet little one.”

“But you are so wise, Thelodius. How could such a simple question lock your tongue in your throat? It requires only an affirmative or a negative.”

“Is that all?”

“Quite all, Thelodius.”

“Come, my child, I do not know what to say to it. It is such a puzzle. You must tell me how to answer it.”

“Me, Thelodius? Answer in your stead? That is quite impossible. You speak as if you have swallowed the dew.”

“No child, I am quite right in my shoes this evening. You see, it is the nature of your question. It has a strange conjectural quality that my mind cannot get around. My brain is old and untrained in this type of thought. If you would only ask me, my child, if this blade of grass is ‘real’ in the manner you say, and I would tell you forthwith my opinion on the matter; that being that this blade of grass is ‘real’ in your manner of speaking, on the basis that it is palpable, that I can see, touch and taste this blade of grass, my child.”

“So you would answer–that is, to the question of a God’s existence–in the negative, as you cannot see, touch, or taste of the deity.”

“How, child? How could you conclude such a thing? My brain is untrained in this mode of thinking. Cannot you grasp the meaning of my previous babbling? You must put the question to yourself, and perhaps, my child, perhaps I could learn to answer it for myself.”

“Very well Thelodius. I will put the question to myself, and I will answer with a question. How could God be real? How could the Universe be governed by a deity? Would you disagree that the world we inhabit supports all life through a self sustaining system? Why would a God create a world to exist independently, to be left alone? Why would a God create an intelligent humanity, capable of discovering the secrets which govern our world, the very formulas for our own existence? Why can’t the deity impart to us the meaning of our first waxing, then waning propensities? We all tend toward the ground you know, and how many of us have understood the meaning of it? Why must a God only speak to certain of us beings, and then only indirectly as the priests would have us believe? Why cannot we know of the deity definitively? Why must we have faith, as the priests say? The priests who line their pockets with our gold and despoil our sisters and brothers of their innocence? Why would a God create life, but also disease to end it; good, and then evil to negate it? Why? How? How could it be so?”

“Why my child, you are so young! I would not have winked at the frothing of your lips had they become so inspired. You speak with such passion, my child, such passion. But I think I am beginning to understand this mode of thought. May I child, may I posit the existence of a God, just for the sake of creating a just polemic?”

“Why, how could I deny you, Thelodius?”

“Very well, my sweet. This deity, this God, would have to be all knowing, would he not?”

“Why yes, that is, if a God existed. For how could one not have all encompassing knowledge  with respect to one’s own creation?”

“That is just it my child, that is just it.”

“Have I solved it all, Thelodius? I do not understand.”

“You are a student of science, my child, are you not?”

“I am.”

“Do you acknowledge that there exist in science, things of which you are ignorant?”

“Readily, Thelodius. But I can learn of them. I am still young, as you say.”

“Can you my child, can you make one admission further? Can you acknowledge the existence of things in your field, things which are beyond your comprehension?”

“Readily, Thelodius. Every scientist must acknowledge the limitations of his own intellect. I am not arrogant, Thelodius.”

“Oh, but you are arrogant, my dear child.”

Leave a Reply

